Alumni Feature | Mia Brabham (’16) | WHAT I’VE LEARNED AS A POST-GRAD PROFESSIONAL/HUMAN

Dukes Take Five

Five months ago, you could have told me I’d be standing where I am now and I wouldn’t have believed you. Living in Washington, D.C.? Working for a sports and entertainment company? Neither sounded appealing to me at the time because I had my mind set on one post-grad plan and one post-grad plan only: to move to Los Angeles and pursue a career in film and television production. When the job offer to work at the Washington based sports company fell into my lap a few months after an introduction at the SMAD Day career fair, everything I thought about my near future was put into question.

They say when one door closes, another one opens. But what if more than one door is open? And if a door opens, does that always mean you should walk through it? These are the questions I struggled with my first few…

View original post 1,417 more words

Leave a Reply

