Alumni Feature- Denedriane Dean (’92) | HOW A MATH AND SCIENCE GIRL AT JMU BECAME A SUCCESSFUL BLOGGER

Dukes Take Five

As I sip my iced tea and finish up another post for RefreshingTalk.com, the blog that I created in 2010, I can’t help but think about the steps that got me here.

I arrived on the campus of James Madison University as a freshman in the fall of 1987. I didn’t really know what I wanted to major in, so I came in undeclared. I did very much carry a love of math and a fascination with space in my heart, so it was no surprise that I declared a major in mathematics.

While many of my peers had their sights set on establishing careers in their respective fields of study, my heart leaned more towards home and family. Indeed, I was willing to work hard and enjoy the job that would be the right fit for me. However, I knew that my career move would be to use…

View original post 1,346 more words

Leave a Reply

