Dukes Serve in the Peace Corps

THE DAILY DUKE

Did you know over 400 JMU alumni have served in the United States Peace Corps?

20151022_134806

Well, 488 to be exact. This year, the university ranked number 16 among the Peace Corps’ top 25 large volunteer producing schools!

Currently there are 35 Dukes serving in the Corps and I had the privilege to interview two, Matt Merritt (’13) and Bryan Jacobs (’14).

How did you become interested in joining the Peace Corps?

Matt: The idea of serving others was first taught to me by my mother who would volunteer weekly with her women’s club. Growing up, I was always aware of what I had reflected and what other’s didn’t. Fast forward to college, I knew that I didn’t want a typical post grad job working in an office. As a Spanish and Global Justice studies double major, I wanted to experience what the rest of the world had to offer while…

View original post 1,185 more words

Leave a Reply

